eagerexplorer

“All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.” – Martin Buber

Here I come, India!

This is it!

In a few hours, I will be boarding my flight to India. I’m excited, yet at the same time anxious for all the new experiences!

There’s a certain tinge of sadness creeping in my body, I must admit. Though this isn’t the first time I’m leaving the country for a couple of months, this is the first time I’ll have no family with me. As I woke up today, I couldn’t believe that time flew by, and that, in fact, today I’m leaving.

After saying goodbye to the people I left behind, I’m starting to prepare myself for the new adventure. Here are some of the things I want to do in Southern India:

1. See a tea plantation

2. Drink chai tea

3. Ride a train

4. Attend a festival

5. Eat curry

6. Do yoga

7. Learn 10 everyday phrases in the local language

8. Visit a Hindu temple

9. Walk around Bangalore

10. Spend a day in Mysore

Surely, there will be ups and downs, but this definitely will be an unforgettable experience.

Goodbye for now, Manila. See you in six weeks! 🙂

7 comments on “Here I come, India!

  1. Maxim Sense
    September 7, 2013

    Hi Karen,

    I’ve had some foreign trips and India is one of few countries I am so dying to visit. I envy your trip to India. I can’t wait to read what you blog about your experiences and escapades there.

    Happy trip and please take care.

    Maxim (Dr. Mosaid)

    • Karen
      September 7, 2013

      I’ll try my best to post frequently. Thank you for following my travels. Cheers!

  2. themysterygirl92
    September 7, 2013

    Eat the street food , that’s amazing !!

    • Karen
      September 7, 2013

      I will, definitely! Any must try’s? 🙂

      • themysterygirl92
        September 12, 2013

        Hey ! So sorry , I couldn’t log in earlier . By now , you would be enjoying yourself in India and I hope you have great memories to carry home with you .
        I reside in Delhi , India and it’s an amazing place and so is any other part of this beautiful land . As you are visiting south India , you must try Dosa , Idli-Sambar , coconut chutney , upma . These are all ethnic dishes of south India and cherished by all .

        And go for shopping !! This is what all girls and women love , isn’t it ? Southern India is comapratively cheaper than north and you can get anything and everything … from dresses to home decor items to spices etc .

        As I see you want to visit a temple , oh you’d find ample . But they are very crowdy , so better you not take anything valuable while going there .

        I can keep on writing but I just remembered you’d be seeing it only when you return back home . LOL .

        Hope you’ve a great time in the country and be safe .

  3. Pingback: Northern India Journey – Day 1 | eagerexplorer

  4. Pingback: Northern India Journey – Day 2 Part 2 | eagerexplorer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2013 by in India, Philippines, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
